PLAN Library Essentials Conference: Safety, Security & Privacy

Loading Map....

Date/Time
Date(s) - 03/29/2018
8:30 am CST - 4:00 pm CST

Location
Florida State University Panama City


8:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. CT (9:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. ET)
Light Continental Breakfast & Registration

Gary Price9 a.m. to 12 noon CT (10 a.m. to 1 p.m. ET)
Maximize Online Privacy with Gary Price of INFODocket

Librarian, writer, and digital privacy expert Gary Price will look at a variety of tools and practical strategies  to maximize your privacy online and that of your users. Gary will also discuss some of the many ethical issues for both libraries and individuals that come up involving digital privacy.

Topics will include:

  • Is the library community doing enough to inform and instruct our users and nonusers alike?
  • Importance of disclosure and education.
  • Digital privacy in other parts of the world.
  • The library as a digital privacy hub.
  • Children, social media, and digital privacy.
  • What is Tor?
  • What does deleted really mean in the online world?
  • What can and can’t a virtual private network (VPN) do?
Gary Price is an American librarian and is co-editor and co-founder of INFOdocket (now part of Library Journal of Media Source). INFOdocket is updated daily with new online search tools, library and research news, commentary, and full text reports from governments, think tanks, NGOs, academicians, and others.

12 noon to 1 p.m. CT (1 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET)
Buffet lunch

1 p.m. to 4 p.m. CT (2 p.m. to 5 p.m. ET)
Photo of Dr. Steve AlbrechtLibrary Safety and Security: Dealing with Challenging Patrons with Dr. Steve Albrecht

Spend a few hours with one of the nation’s leading experts on library safety and security. Dr. Steve Albrecht has trained thousands of library employees on the dos and don’ts of handling challenging, entitled, odd, or even threatening patrons, including the homeless, mentally ill, gang members, thieves, internet hogs, and others who want to disrupt the library. His popular program offers practical and realistic tools which will make your facility a better, safer place to work. Enjoy Steve’s real-life experiences as a law enforcement officer, mixed with his use of humor. Learn safe workplace behaviors, security measures, and how to activate your “high-risk” customer service skills.

For the past 15 years, Dr. Steve Albrecht has been well known to library audiences around the US for his webinars, articles, book, and training programs on library safety and security. He worked for the San Diego Police Department for 15 years and is board certified in HR, security, coaching, and threat management. He holds a doctoral degree in Business Administration, an MA in Security Management, a BS in Psychology, and a BA in English. He has written 18 books on business, security, and law enforcement topics. He is the author of the ALA book, Library Security: Better Communication, Safer Facilities (2015).

Competency Index for the Library Field: Essential Library Competencies; Library Management Competencies; Public Service Competencies; Technology Competencies

Skill Level: Introduction & Beyond Basic

Current Attendees

  • Zedra Hawkins
  • Susan Cook
  • Alisha Tucker
  • Shirles Andrews
  • Lori Driscoll
  • Anita Libby
  • Jess Bolton
  • JK Newsome
  • Dan Owens
  • Christine Chamberlin
  • Mickey Boyd
  • Jane Stephens
  • Bart Pisapia
  • Scott Joyner
  • Muriel Llewellyn

Register For This Event


Share This: